HBO’s ‘Watchmen’ Dominates 2020 TCA Awards

HBO, spearheaded by the original limited series “Watchmen,” led the 36th annual Television Critics Association (TCA) Awards, winning six overall awards in the showcase honoring the best programs and performances from the 2019-20 TV season. Due to the coronavirus pandemic, the TCA Awards were held virtually.

HBO doubled its win total from 2019 as the network was driven by “Watchmen,” which captured four awards, including an Individual Achievement In Drama honor for series star Regina King; Outstanding Movie, Miniseries, or Special; Outstanding New Program; and the Program of the Year award, for taking the established mythos of the Watchmen graphic novel with a story that paid homage to the original source. HBO also scored victories with the media dynasty tale “Succession,” which won the award for Outstanding Achievement In Drama, and first-year comedy series “A Black Lady Sketch Show,” which earned Outstanding Achievement In Sketch/Variety Show.

The winners were determined by votes cast by the TCA’s network of more than 250 TV critics and journalists in the United States and Canada. The 2020 TCA Awards put the spotlight on a diverse lineup of stars and series across 13 categories, including Program of the Year, Outstanding Achievement in Reality Programming, Individual Achievement in Drama, Outstanding Achievement in News & Information, Outstanding Achievement in Sketch/Variety Shows, and Outstanding Achievement in Youth Programming, as well as the prestigious Heritage Award and Career Achievement Award, among others.

Subscribe HERE to the FREE Media Play News Daily Newsletter!

Pop TV’s “Schitt’s Creek” earned awards for Outstanding Achievement in Comedy and Individual Achievement in Comedy for Catherine O’Hara. ESPN’s Michael Jordan-focused docuseries The Last Dance hoisted the trophy for Outstanding Achievement in News and Information; Netflix’s college pep squad profile “Cheer” landed Outstanding Achievement in Reality Programming; and PBS Kids’ Peabody Award-winning animated series “Molly Of Denali” added Outstanding Achievement in Youth Programming to its growing collection of accolades.

Additionally, TCA awarded the Heritage Award to Gene Roddenberry’s landmark 1966 sci-fi epic “Star Trek,” in recognition of the groundbreaking series which brought the future to life — illustrating a vision that is equal parts hopeful and cautious as it explored issues such as bigotry, religion, politics, sexism, and human rights through stories of love, war, intrigue, and adventure in outer space — with the help of a strong cast that was among the first to feature an African-American in a significant leading role.

The TCA also presented television veteran Alex Trebek with the Career Achievement Award, honoring the seven-time Emmy winner for Outstanding Game Show Host, Guinness World Record-holder, Hollywood and Canadian Walk Of Fame recipient, National Association of Broadcasters (NAB) Broadcasting Hall Of Fame inductee, philanthropist, and long-time host of the Peabody Award-winning game show “Jeopardy!” for his unparalleled legacy as one of television’s most enduring personalities.

“Entertainment and culture are intertwined and in this challenging year, never has that intersection been more crucial as both a mirror to examine tough reflections and a rabbit hole to escape the noise and scares outside our homes,” Sarah Rodman, TCA President and executive editor at Entertainment Weekly, said in a statement, adding the 2019-20 television season was both a “challenge and a balm.”

“We are excited to see what the future of television has in store, and we look forward to celebrating in-person next year as we come together to honor this medium that means so much to all of us,” she said.

2020 TCA Award recipients included:

  • Individual Achievement In Drama: Regina King (Watchmen, HBO)
  • Individual Achievement In Comedy: Catherine O’Hara (Schitt’s Creek, Pop TV)
  • Outstanding Achievement In News and Information: The Last Dance (ESPN)
  • Outstanding Achievement In Reality Programming: Cheer (Netflix)
  • Outstanding Achievement In Youth Programming: Molly of Denali (PBS Kids)
  • Outstanding Achievement In Sketch/Variety Shows: A Black Lady Sketch Show (HBO)
  • Outstanding New Program: Watchmen (HBO)
  • Outstanding Achievement In Movie, Miniseries, Or Special: Watchmen (HBO)
  • Outstanding Achievement In Drama: Succession (HBO)
  • Outstanding Achievement In Comedy: Schitt’s Creek (Pop TV)
  • Program of the Year: Watchmen (HBO)
  • Career Achievement Honoree: Alex Trebek
  • Heritage Award: Star Trek (CBS)