Amazon Prime Video to Bow First Two Episodes of ‘The Lord of the Rings: The Rings of Power’ Sept. 1-2

Amazon Prime Video Aug. 16 confirmed that the first two episodes of original series, “The Lord of the Rings: The Rings of Power,” will premiere on Sept. 1-2 (time zone dependent). The rest of the episodes will follow a weekly, single-episode rollout. The episodes will launch at the same time around the world. The finale of the eight-episode first season will air on Oct. 14.

The series aims to bring to screens for the very first time the heroic legends of the fabled Second Age of Middle-earth’s history. The storyline is set thousands of years before the events of J.R.R. Tolkien’s novels and Warner Bros. Pictures’ movie franchises The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings.

Subscribe HERE to the FREE Media Play News Daily Newsletter!

Week One Episodes 1 & 2 Timings:
6 p.m. PDT // Thursday, Sept. 1
9 p.m. EDT // Thursday, Sept. 1
2 a.m. UK // Friday, Sept. 2
3 a.m. CEST // Friday, Sept. 2
5:30 a.m. IST // Friday, Sept. 2
10 a.m. JST // Friday, Sept. 2
11 a.m. AU // Friday, Sept. 2
1 p.m. NZ // Friday, Sept. 2

Week Two Timings Through to Season Finale:
9 p.m. PDT // Thursdays
12 a.m. EDT // Fridays
1 a.m. Brazil // Fridays
5 a.m. UK // Fridays
6 a.m. CEST // Fridays
9:30 a.m. IST // Fridays
1 p.m. JST // Fridays
2 p.m. AU // Fridays
4 p.m. NZ // Fridays

‘Middle-Earth Ultimate Collector’s Edition’ Due on 4K Ultra HD Nov. 16

The Middle-Earth Ultimate Collector’s Edition, timed to the 20th anniversary of The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring, will come out on 4K Ultra HD Nov. 16 from Warner Bros. Home Entertainment.

The $249.99, 31-disc collection of Peter Jackson’s Middle-earth saga contains new special features along with the theatrical and extended versions of the six films from New Line Cinema and Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Pictures — The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey, The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug and The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies as well as The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring, The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers and The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King, which won Academy Awards for Best Picture, Best Director and Best Adapted Screenplay.

It comes in “Puzzle Box” packaging and includes a 64-page booklet featuring costumes, photography and production notes from the film, and art cards featuring travel posters and images from iconic locations throughout Middle-Earth including The Shire, Lake-Town, Erebor, Anduin, Rohan, Minas Trith and Rivendell.

Subscribe HERE to the FREE Media Play News Daily Newsletter!

Also included are the original Cannes Film Festival presentation reel, and footage from the recent Alamo Drafthouse cast reunion, featuring director Peter Jackson along with cast members Sean Astin, Cate Blanchett, Orlando Bloom, Billy Boyd, Ian McKellan, Dominic Monaghan, Viggo Mortenson, Andy Serkis, Liv Tyler and Elijah Wood.

The 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray discs will feature Dolby Vision HDR and a Dolby Atmos soundtrack. All six films also come on Blu-ray discs remastered from the 4K master. The 4K remastering process was overseen by Jackson.

Update (10/12/21): Release date changed from Oct. 26 to Nov. 16.