The Roku Channel, NBCUniversal Partner for Local News

Roku June 28 announced it is partnering with NBCUniversal to bring several NBC local news channels to The Roku Channel. The channels will be available for users to access through The Roku Channel’s Live TV Guide.

Through the partnership, NBCUniversal will bring local news channels from its NBC stations in major markets around the United States, including New York, Los Angeles, Chicago, Philadelphia, Dallas/Fort Worth, Washington DC, Hartford (CT) and South Florida, to The Roku Channel. Additional NBCUniversal channels will be added in the coming months. The partnership marks the first time that local news programming will be available on The Roku Channel.

“Audiences are increasingly opting to consume news through streaming, and local news has consistently been one of the top requested categories by our users,” Ashley Hovey, head of The Roku Channel, AVOD, said in a statement. 

The channels will feature the latest local news, breaking updates, weather forecast and live events from that designated area. The addition of the channels will complement The Roku Channel’s existing lineup of national news options, which includes NBC News Now, making both local and national news easily accessible to audiences.

Subscribe HERE to the FREE Media Play News Daily Newsletter!

“Local news has never been more vital to helping our audiences stay informed about what’s happening in their communities,” said Meredith McGinn, EVP of diginets and original production for NBCUniversal Local.

NBCUniversal Local is Comcast’s local media division that delivers English and Spanish speakers and bilingual audiences in 31 U.S. markets and Puerto Rico. The division is comprised of three individual media groups, including the NBC Owned Television Stations group, the NBC Sports Regional Networks and the Telemundo Station Group. The division is also home to multicast networks LX News, COZI TV, TeleXitos.

The Roku Channel features a lineup of more than 80,000 free movies and programs and 300 linear television channels in the U.S, as well as subscription streaming video from over 50 content partners. It licenses and distributes content from more than 250 partners.

Peacock Launching Local News Channels via NBC-Owned TV Stations

Peacock Jan. 20 announced the expansion of local news content on the streaming platform with channels from its NBC-owned television stations in several major markets. Beginning today, all Peacock users have free access to coverage from NBC 5 Chicago (WMAQ), NBC 10 Philadelphia (WCAU), NBC10 Boston (WBTS) and New England Cable Network (NECN), and NBC 6 Miami (WTVJ). News channels from NBC 4 New York (WNBC) and NBC 4 Los Angeles (KNBC) will be available to stream for free in the months ahead.

The new channels titled NBC Chicago News, NBC Philadelphia News, NBC Boston News and NBC South Florida News offer Peacock subs 24/7 access local news coverage. Each channel features simulcast and encore news programming, along with breaking news and original content produced by its NBC station’s local news operations. The lineups deliver news, weather, sports, investigative reporting, lifestyle content and storytelling.

Subscribe HERE to the FREE Media Play News Daily Newsletter!

“We know the importance of local news to our subscribers, and this further distinguishes the Peacock experience where you can stream everything from news content to original scripted shows, premium movies, live sports and more all on our platform,” Jen Brown, SVP of program planning for Peacock, said in a statement.

The addition of local news channels builds upon Peacock’s growing news offering, which currently features live and on demand channels including NBC News Now, Sky News, Today All Day, NBC LX, Telemundo Al Día and Dateline 24/7; exclusive channels like The Choice from MSNBC, featuring original programming from hosts Zerlina Maxwell and Mehdi Hasan; curated playlists from national programming such as “Today,” “NBC Nightly News,” “Meet the Press,” “Noticias Telemundo,” MSNBC, CNBC, NBC Sports, E! News and Access Hollywood as well as 11 local NBC stations including New York, Los Angeles, Chicago, Miami, Philadelphia, Boston, Dallas, San Francisco, Washington, D.C., San Diego and Connecticut.