‘Laughing Under the Clouds’ Anime Trilogy Heads Home

Shout! Factory and Eleven Arts Anime Studio have set a Feb. 4, 2020, release date for Donten: Laughing Under the Clouds — Gaiden: Three Film Collection, an anime feature film trilogy based on Japanese cartoonist Karakara Kemuri’s supernatural manga series.

The three-film collection includes “Laughing Under the Clouds” films One Year After the Battle, The Tragedy of Fuuma Ninja Tribe, and Conspiracy of the Military. It will be released in a Blu-ray Disc combo pack that includes a DVD copy of the movies, three Japanese mini-posters and the original Japanese audio. Fans also will have the option to purchase a digital version of the films separately.

Directed by Tetsuya Wakano (Pokémon Generations), the trilogy picks up the story a year after brothers and shrine guardians Tenka, Soramaru, and Chutaro have defeated the legendary giant snake that threatened to destroy humanity. Their lives are thrown into upheaval when they discover a plot to revive the evil serpent.

Subscribe HERE to the FREE Media Play News Daily Newsletter!

The original series, “Laughing Under the Clouds,” aired in March 2011 and was serialized in the monthly comic magazine Avarus. It has also been adapted into an anime television series by Doga Kobo. The sequel “Laughing Under the Clouds — Gaiden” premiered in 2014 and ended 2017.