Netflix, HBO Dominate Event-Less 79th Golden Globe Awards

The Netflix original movie The Power of the Dog Jan. 9 won three awards at the 79th Golden Globe Awards, including the streamer’s first-ever best motion picture (drama) win. The movie also landed Netflix best director (Jane Campion) and best supporting actor (Kodi Smit-McPhee) wins.

The subscription VOD pioneer ended the evening with five Golden Globes, including Korea’s O Yeong-su winning best supporting actor for the streamer’s wildly popular “Squid Game” TV series.

The other big winner, HBO/HBO Max, won six awards, including best TV drama series (“Succession”); best comedy/musical series (“Hacks”); Jeremy Strong for best TV drama actor (“Succession”); Jean Smart for best TV actress comedy/musical (“Hacks”); Kate Winslet for best TV actress for limited series (“Mare of Easttown”); and Sarah Snook for best TV supporting actress (“Succession”).

Subscribe HERE to the FREE Media Play News Daily Newsletter!

The evening’s winners were announced via social media posts after NBC canceled televising the 2022 event —which typically launches the annual industry awards season — due to revelations that Globes organizer, the Hollywood Foreign Press Association, had no blacks among its 103 official members. Additional allegations of unethical behavior within the organization resulted in numerous actors, celebrities and industry companies boycotting the event.

Last year, actor Tom Cruise returned his three Golden Globe statues in a move largely seen as a protest against HFPA’s lack of diversity.

In a statement, HFPA said it now has a chief diversity office, and 21 new members, including six blacks. The association also says it has revamped its code of ethics and entered into a five-year partnership with the NAACP.

Disney-owned 20th Century Studios’ multicultural musical West Side Story won three awards, including Rachel Zegler for best actress in a comedy/musical, while Ariana DeBose won best supporting actress. The Steven Spielberg-directed film won best motion picture (musical or comedy).

Best lead actor (drama) went to Will Smith in Warner Bros. Pictures’ King Richard, Andrew Garfield won in the musical/comedy category for Netflix’s Tick, Tick … Boom!, and Nicole Kidman won best lead actress in Amazon Studios’ Being the Ricardos.

Other movie awards included Kenneth Branagh for best screenplay for Focus Features’ Belfast; Hans Zimmer for best original score for Warner’s Dune; Billie Eilish and Finneas for best original song for MGM/United Releasing’s No Time to Die title tune; Walt Disney’s Encanto for best motion picture (animated); and Japan’s Drive My Car for best foreign-language motion picture.

TV show winners included Hulu’s “Only Murders in the Building” for best alternate; Amazon Prime Video’s “The Underground Railroad” for best limited TV series; Jason Sudeikis for best TV actor in a comedy or musical for “Ted Lasso” on Apple TV+; Michael Keaton for best actor in a limited series  for Hulu’s “Dopesick”; and MJ Rodriguez was named best TV drama actress for FX’s “Pose.”