‘Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker’ Available Digitally March 17, on Disc March 31

The sci-fi/fantasy blockbuster Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker will be available through digital retailers March 17, and on Blu-ray, DVD and 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray March 31 from Lucasfilm and Disney.

The film is “Episode IX” in the nine-film Skywalker saga and the concluding chapter of the sequel trilogy that began with 2015’s The Force Awakens and continued in 2017’s The Last Jedi.

The story finds Rey (Daisy Ridley) leading a mission to uncover ancient secrets to help the remnants of the resistance fight the resurrected Emperor Palpatine (Ian McDiarmid), who has promised great power to Kylo Ren (Adam Driver) to rule the galaxy.

The cast also includes John Boyega as Finn, Oscar Isaac as Poe, Anthony Daniels as C-3PO, Naomi Ackie as Jannah, Domhnall Gleeson as General Hux, Richard E. Grant as General Pryde, Lupita Nyong’o as Maz Kanata, Keri Russell as Zorii Bliss, Joonas Suotamo as Chewbacca, Kelly Marie Tran as Rose Tico, Billy Dee Williams as Lando Calrissian, Mark Hamill as Luke Skywalker, and Carrie Fisher as General Leia.

The appearance of Fisher, who died in 2016, was achieved using unused footage from the earlier films.

Directed by J.J. Abrams, The Rise of Skywalker earned more than $513 million at the domestic box office and just over $1 billion worldwide.

Subscribe HERE to the FREE Media Play News Daily Newsletter!

Bonus material includes the feature-length making-of documentary “The Skywalker Legacy.” Additional extras include the featurettes “Pasaana Pursuit: Creating the Speeder Chase,” a look at one of the film’s key action scenes; “Aliens in the Desert,” a look at creating the desert world of Pasaana; “D-O: Key to the Past,” which focuses on the film’s new droid character; “Warwick & Son,” about actor Warwick Davis returning to play an Ewok; and “Cast of Creatures,” in which the team the created the record 584 creatures and droids for the film reveal the puppetry, makeup, prosthetics and digital magic that bring them to life.

Exclusive to the film’s digital version will be “The Maestro’s Finale,” a featurette about composer John Williams, who reflects on his body of work for the “Star Wars” saga.

Follow us on Instagram!

The “Star Wars” saga was created by George Lucas, who directed the original film that was released in 1977 and has since come to be known as Episode IV: A New Hope. The original trilogy consisted of 1980’s The Empire Strikes Back and 1983’s Return of the Jedi. Lucas also directed the prequel trilogy, beginning in 1999 with Episode I: The Phantom Menace and continuing with 2002’s Attack of the Clones and 2005’s Revenge of the Sith.

A nine-film 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray “Saga Collection” boxed set will be available exclusively through Best Buy. Individual 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Disc releases also are slated for each film.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

thirteen − nine =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.