DEG Seeks Nominees for 2020 Hedy Lamarr Innovation Award

DEG: The Digital Entertainment Group is soliciting nominations for the fourth annual “Hedy Lamarr Award for Innovation in Entertainment Technology,” which recognizes female executives in the fields of entertainment and technology “who has advanced and impacted the industry in a unique manner that drove meaningful change.”

The deadline for submissions is Feb. 14. A nomination form can be downloaded here.

Austrian-American actress Hedy Lamarr was an actress best known for her roles in films such as Samson and Delilah, The Strange Woman and Tortilla Flat. She was also a lifelong inventor whose innovative work included pioneering “frequency hopping,” which became the foundation for spread spectrum technology. Conceived by Lamarr and composer George Antheil for radio guidance systems and patented in 1942, this highly secure technology resists interference and dropout, and is utilized today for a variety of cellular, Wi-Fi and Bluetooth applications.

DEG created the Hedy Lamarr Awards to recognize and inspire pioneering work by the multi-faceted female leaders in the entertainment industry.

DEG presented its first “Hedy Lamarr Award for Innovation in Entertainment Technology” in 2017 to Academy Award winning actress and advocate Geena Davis, founder and chair of the Geena Davis Institute on Gender in Media. The following year, DEG presented the award to Nonny de la Peña, CEO of Emblematic Group. The 2019 award went to Willow Bay, dean of the USC Annenberg School for Communication and Journalism.

DEG also presents the “Hedy Lamarr Achievement Award for Emerging Leaders in Entertainment Technology,” which recognizes female college students whose studies in the fields of entertainment and technology have shown exceptional promise.

The first Emerging Leader award was presented to Johanna Baumann of the University of Michigan in 2017. Cassidy Pearsall of Carnegie Mellon University received the award in 2018. In 2019 it was presented to Maya Tribbitt of USC Annenberg and USC Dornsife College of Letters, Arts and Sciences.

Applications for the scholarship are available here.

The awards will be presented in November.

For more information, contact or visit

Subscribe HERE to the FREE Media Play News Daily Newsletter!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

1 × four =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.