DEG Seeks Nominees for Second Hedy Lamarr Innovation Award

DEG: The Digital Entertainment Group is soliciting nominations for the second annual “Hedy Lamarr Award for Innovation in Entertainment Technology,” which recognizes female executives in the fields of entertainment and technology who have made a significant contribution to the industry.

The deadline for submissions is Feb. 15. A nomination form can be downloaded here.

The second annual Hedy Lamarr Awards will be presented in November 2018, to coincide with the 104th anniversary of Hedy Lamarr’s birth.

The inaugural Hedy Lamarr Award for Innovation in Entertainment Technology was presented in November 2017 to Geena Davis, founder and chair of the Geena Davis Institute on Gender in Media, in Santa Monica, Calif.

Austrian-American actress Hedy Lamarr was a Hollywood legend who is best remembered for her roles in a number of film classics, including Samson and Delilah, The Strange Woman, and Tortilla Flat. She was also a lifelong inventor whose innovative work included pioneering “frequency hopping,” which became the foundation for spread spectrum technology.

Conceived by Lamarr and composer George Antheil for radio guidance systems and patented in 1942, this highly secure technology resists interference and dropout, and is utilized today for a variety of cellular, WiFi and Bluetooth applications.

To honor Lamarr, the Innovation Award seeks to recognize and commemorate women industry leaders that have made a similar impact in the field of entertainment technology.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

three × 3 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.