DEG Elects New Board of Directors For Its 25th Year

DEG: The Digital Entertainment Group is entering its 25th year as the home entertainment industry’s leading trade association with a new board of directors the group says reflects the growing diversity of its membership.

DEG’s voting member companies elected the new board to serve for the 2021-22 fiscal year (Aug. 1 – July 31, 2022). Azure and Verizon Business Group are new DEG member companies and are newly represented on the DEG board, with MGM Studios returning. Azure is represented on the board by former Fox Home Entertainment executive Hanno Basse, MGM is represented by Andres Alvarez, and Verizon Business Group is represented by Steve Walter.

The board also includes two seats representing DEG’s two Alliances, the D2C Alliance (D2CA) and the new Advanced Content Delivery Alliance (ACDA), both of which are involved in focusing DEG membership for the future and broadening the organization’s membership. The board D2CA director is Alison Hoffman of Starz, another new DEG member company. The ACDA board director is Jeremy Settle of AT&T.

DEG officers were elected to two-year terms in 2020 and will continue to serve through July 2022. Officers include chair Jim Wuthrich of WarnerMedia; vice chair Dan Cohen of ViacomCBS Global Distribution Group; CFO Andrea Downing of PBS Distribution; secretary Rick Hack of Intel; and chair emeritus Matt Strauss of Peacock.

“This is a highly engaged group focused on growing their own businesses and the industry as a whole through improving consumer choice, experience and value,” Wuthrich, president of home entertainment and content licensing at WarnerMedia, said in a statement.

DEG also has made two key staff appointments. Marcy Magiera has been promoted to executive director, from director, of communication and events, and Jean Levicki has joined DEG as director of community and member programs.

“We welcome all of our new DEG board directors and are thrilled about the expanding participation of advanced content delivery and direct-to-consumer companies,” said Amy Jo Smith, DEG president and CEO.


Officers of the Board (Fiscal Years 2020-22)

Jim Wuthrich
President, Home Entertainment and Content Licensing

Vice Chair
Dan Cohen
ViacomCBS Global Distribution Group

Chief Financial Officer
Andrea Downing
PBS Distribution

Rick Hack
Head of Media & Entertainment Partnerships

Chair Emeritus
Matt Strauss
Chairman, Direct-to-Consumer and International
NBCUniversal and Peacock

Board Directors (Fiscal Year 2021-22)

Erol Kalafat
Senior Technical Product Manager
Amazon Prime

Jeremy Settle
Head of Service & Content Partnerships

Hanno Basse
CTO, Media & Entertainment

Rebecca Heap
SVP Video & Entertainment, Xfinity Consumer Services

Alisa Bowen
SVP Operations
Disney + / Disney Streaming Services

Jonathan Zepp
Media & Entertainment, Global Partnerships

Tim Alessi
Senior Director, Product Marketing
LG Electronics

Ron Schwartz
President Global Distribution, Lionsgate Motion Picture Group

Andres Alvarez
SVP Digital Distribution – Partner Engagement & Strategy

Pedro E. Gutierrez, Jr.
Director, Entertainment, Consumer Applications, & Advertising
Microsoft Corporation

Michael Bonner
President, Universal Pictures Home Entertainment

Bob Buchi
Paramount Home Entertainment

Grace Dolan
VP Integrated Marketing, Samsung Consumer Business
Samsung Electronics

Alison Hoffman
President, Domestic Networks

Steve Walter
Global Practice Lead, Media, Entertainment & Technology
Verizon Business Group

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

5 × five =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.